Results First, Fees Later
(208) 333-3366
Featured / 11.02.2021

Car Accident Claim Time Limit in Idaho

Different states have different limits when it comes to filing different kinds of lawsuits. The time limit is known as the statute of limitations. In Idaho, the statute of limitations for any personal injury claims related to car accidents is two years from the date of the accident. If you do not file a lawsuit within this duration, you lose the right to file a claim in Idaho and get compensation from the at-fault party. However, the Idaho statute of limitations allows for some exceptions. If you get into a car accident, you need to contact Idaho Car Accident Lawyers as soon as possible for more information on the statute of limitations for your case. They can help you protect your right to fair compensation. While you may view two years as a long time, it is significantly shorter when dealing with personal car accident claims.

Exceptions to the Statute of Limitations in Idaho

In Idaho, the statute of limitation has very few limited exceptions. One exception accounts for victims under the age of 18 at the time of the injury. The two-year period will start after the 18th birthday of the victim or six years depending on the earliest event.

Another important exception relates to car accident claims involving the government. When bringing a car accident claim against the government in Idaho, you have a significantly shorter time to file a notice of claim. You should also find a car accident lawyer in Idaho immediately if you get into a car accident involving a government vehicle, entity, or employee. Failure to do this reduces your chances of exercising your right to compensation.

Depending on the facts of your case, some exceptions may also apply. The most effective way to protect your right to compensation after a car accident is by consulting with a car accident lawyer in Idaho.

How to Report a Car Accident in Idaho

According to Idaho law, you need to report an accident immediately if you get into a car accident that results in:

  • Injury
  • Loss of life
  • Damage to property exceeding $1,500

If the accident occurs within a city in Idaho, you must give notice of the accident to the Idaho police. If the accident does not happen in a city, you need to report it to the county sheriff or nearest police office.

Why Do You Need a Car Accident Lawyer in Idaho?

As we said before, a car accident claim can be pretty complicated to handle. It would be best if you had someone with experience and a good understanding of the local laws. A good lawyer can analyze your case to determine the time limit based on the Idaho statute of limitations. They can also gather evidence on your behalf and negotiate with the insurance company so you can focus on your recovery.

To summarize, Idaho’s car accident claim time limit is two years apart from a few exceptions. You must report any accident that results in damage to property worth $1,500 or more, injuries, or loss of life. A car accident lawyer in Idaho can help you understand the local laws, gather evidence, and negotiate with the insurance company to make sure that you get the compensation you deserve.

Call Today! (208) 333-3366

Share This Story

If you find this information useful, consider sharing this story to your social media channels. Help us make this community a better place.

We are Idahoan, and we represent our people. Our attorneys stand ready to adeptly represent your interests, navigating the complexities of your case every step of the way.

uploadmagnifiercrossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram